Student data use (use link(s) from service catalog)
Instructor Data Stewardship Do’s and Don’ts
How students can remove their work from the tool at the end of the semester
Students may only have access to request removal of their work as long as they have access to the Middlebury account that they linked to the service. For this reason, we recommend that students consider what they want to do with work shared via FlipGrid at the end of each semester.
Grid Owners should be sure to review the Instructor Data Stewardship Do’s and Don’ts prior to setting up and using their grids with students.
How students can access and retain content contained in the tool
We advise paying particular attention to how info is shared, and how students can remove their data from the tool to either delete it, or take it with them when they graduate. In particular, Flipgrid places the burden of data privacy on the grid owner. This means that videos posted on a grid remain there indefinitely or until the grid owner deletes the grid. So, being up front with students about the data (video and text) being shared in this environment and how you will steward it when the class is over would be a proactive step that takes advantage of the platform’s affordances while also respecting students’ digital footprint.